Your First Major Tantrum

Well A you really knocked Mommy for a loop the other day. You had your first MAJOR meltdown, you threw yourself on the floor rolled on your tummy and kicked and screamed for what seemed like an eternity. I did not know what to say or do. I was sure the neighbors thought your were seriously injured. Harpua even thought something was wrong as he came to your aid until you kicked him in the face twice. As you know you and Harpua are just forging a relationship so his concern for you was truly heartfelt.

notice the hands and legs in motion for the picture

A few hour after the event I could not remember what the problem was but you had a stereotypical meltdown.

As for the rest of the day you were either in love with me, hugging and kissing me or screaming because I had wronged you in some way (like taking one step away from you).

I am comforted by the fact that I received an email from Babycenter today talking about how you are the age for tantrums. I hope all the other mothers out there with 15 month olds (or older or younger) are doing ok with this stage. My thoughts are with you at this most difficult time.

My dearest A, please do not be like this for the rest of your life you may put your Mom in the mental ward at the hospital!

Lessons to learn (mostly for Mommy today):

-Patience is something that is required as a parent.

-It is frustrating for a child to not be able to talk yet… I need to remember this more often.

-Do not unsubscribe from Babycenter emails you never know when they will make you feel better.

-I have said this before, think about how other people would deal with your situation it could be worse… there are people out there with twins (but they also get twice the love)!!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Your First Major Tantrum

  1. Sadly, it will be the first tantrum of many. As I write this my two year old is flailing on the floor and screaming. I am trying to ignore the negative behaviour . . . gotta love Baby Center!

    http://4mothers1blog.wordpress.com

  2. marinasleeps

    I have learned to not pay attention and start singing a song or playing with a toy they are unfamilar with. It always works.

  3. makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

  4. My daughter once had a major tantrum on a Jet Blue flight because I couldn’t produce Mickey Mouse Club House on the little television in front of her seat. How could I produce it on every other screen, television or computer, but not THIS screen? Trapped, it lasted an hour, until the flight landed. My only advice is to pretend like it’s not happening. It doesn’t usually stop the meltdown completely, but it will lessen the duration and velocity. Good luck! She three and had one in a restaurant today…

Leave a Reply

