To Do List Not A Bucket List

I was inspired by reading Lesley Carter’s blog post on an annual bucket list. I find the thought of a “bucket” list incredibly depressing and I certainly cannot do an annual list but here are some things I would like to do in my life, many sooner rather than later. It is also important for you kids to know I am not into resolutions either, you can change your life and what you are doing at anytime not just when the calendar year changes. I will say if you need motivation to make a change that you need to do the new year is a good time to motivate but be realistic… if the goal is to spend more time outdoors, starting in the winter may set you up for failure or disappointment. Give yourself a chance to be successful.

Me at the Grand Canyon several years ago... something that would have been on this list if I had not done it.

  1. Go to Hawaii (your Dad and I have a deal we are going there for our 10 year anniversary only a few years left)
  2. Be on the Price is Right (I really wanted to go on before Bob Barker retired but Drew Carey has been a good replacement)
  3. Go to the taping of late night talk show (I really love Jimmy Fallon but I would be fine with anyone)
  4. Meet Martha Stewart (or at least attend a taping)
  5. Drive cross country with you and your Dad (you guys need to be old enough to appreciate it so we cannot do that yet)
  6. Go to Portland Oregon (seems weird right, my green and crafting side makes me think this is a city that would totally fit my life. I could not move there it would be far away from all our friends and family but I would love to check it out)
  7. Go to Africa (your Dad has zero interest so I think I might try when you kids get older to go on service trip with a charity)
  8. Take a month off of work (impractical on so many levels but I would really like to have 4 weeks to do whatever I want)
  9. Get solar panels put on the house (probably not where we live now but maybe the next house)
  10. Own a hybrid or electric car that can actually accommodate our family size and needs
  11. Cook a new recipe twice a month (short term goal)
  12. Go to the gym/do yoga/Pilates at least 3 times a week
  13. Learn new ways to do my hair in an up-do other than a ponytail or bun
  14. Actually finish writing three posts a week here. (There are so many things I want to write to you guys I need to carve out more time to do it)
  15. Go to England and Ireland (I always wanted to do a bike tour of Ireland, maybe when you kids are older we can all do it together)
  16. Run a Marathon (JUST KIDDING… that will never be on my list)
  17. Do a spontaneous weekend road trip once a year
  18. Go to Glacier National Park (before there is no glacier)
  19. Win the lottery (I will write an entirely separate post on the irony of that goal!)

There are alot of other things I want to do but I think I need to do some of these before I can replace them with new ones.

5 Comments

Filed under Mom Facts

5 responses to “To Do List Not A Bucket List

  1. Ann

    What a great list of goals! Portland, Oregon, is a wonderful fit if you like crafting and are eco-conscious. When you’re there, head out to Otis, Oregon (it’s a relatively short drive to the coast). There’s an art center there – Sitka Center for Art and Ecology. I took a couple of classes there and thoroughly enjoyed the experienced. I’m drawing a blank on the name of the little town north of Otis…but it has these little cottage-homes that have beautiful flowers and gardens plus these quirky signs throughout town that the residents have painted and put up. Have fun!

  2. Cook a new recipe twice a month (short term goal)
    Go to the gym/do yoga/Pilates at least 3 times a week

    I like your short term goals of cooking and working out. I find PINTEREST to be a huge inspiration for my cooking lately. I have also now joined a workout class 3 days a week. I think the class is the ONLY way I would have ever stuck to my goal of working out 5 days a week.

  3. Nik

    That would be awesome to be on The Price is Right!

  4. Pinterest is WONDERFUL for finding new cooking recipes.

Leave a Reply

